Accepting the Path

So after passing my Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) exam, I am relaxed and happy to have finally cleared this first important hurdle on the road to become a master network architect. The experience of self studying and preparing for the CCNA is a bit of an accelerated apprenticeship. You learn the basics and must work on mastering them until they are second nature. It is also a great place to develop your pace, work style and process. Coming out of the test certified gives you this air of confidence that may have been wavering in the final seconds of finishing the test. Post test is a wonderful time. Celebrating victory. Boosting your ego by telling yourself that you have finally arrived!

How I felt after checking my score report

How I felt after checking my score report

In a couple of hours or days, the next thing that will ultimately happen is what is next? If you have been giving this question thought and already have a trajectory in mind like me, then this question has a different meaning than those just chasing dollars and fads.

Because I am interested in network design, I started to contemplate whether my next step would continue in the Cisco certification jungle. Maybe I should move over to another jungle. Juniper? Brocade? Well I also want to do some non-network stuff to stay up to date. VMware? I also have OS study interests. Linux+ anyone?

I have a lot of thought bubbles.

I have a lot of thought bubbles.

Then because of how I work,  I reviewed my goals and looked at what I WANTED to do.

I like data centers and design. So focusing my efforts is what I need to do next.

On to my research.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in The Legend of Doug

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 690 other followers

Mr Bart

Cisco certification and other topics

TTy BroadCast

A network engineer blog

ccdewiki

Cisco Certified Design Expert Study Guide

mrn-cciew

My CCIE Wireless Journey & More.....

PacketLife.net Blog

The path to becoming a fully realized network architect

